#POF Week 4 Recap

First things first, I know that I missed my article last week, and I KNOW you’re all DYING to know if I’m still eating my salads.

Dudes, I am.

And I’m SO sorry that I’ve been absent, but we’ve had such a hectic couple weeks!

We’ve been working our tails off at the shop, and I’ve been busy putting this fundraiser together, and oh, did I mention we BOUGHT A HOUSE?!

ALSO AS I WAS WRITING THIS AN OLD FRIEND GAVE US AN ORANGE KITTEN OMG I’M GONNA DIE OF HAPPINESS!

So obviously a lot of big things are happening here at Casa Ajena.

(We named our house Casa Ajena, which pretty much means “this isn’t your house, so don’t get comfortable and don’t touch anything.” Of course, invited guests are still welcome, but we like to keep to ourselves and I’m just a sassy lady so of course this is what we would name our house.)

So last week (the week I didn’t write about), I did have some “cheat days,” but they consisted of meals like chicken legs and salad, or bbq ribs and salad, and my step dad bought me and my sister sushi one day. So I didn’t feel too bad about those “cheats.” I had every intention of writing about my meals, but life got in the way.

This week, however, has been a baaaaad week. I think my brain was like, “It’s okay to cheat because you didn’t write an article last week.” Which literally makes no sense, I know that. But we spent the entire week house sitting, putting together a fundraiser, working, and painting our new living room in our spare time.

I had no time to make a salad. I had time to order Jimmy Johns. And I had time to order pizza. I had time to put my quickly moving life ahead of everything else. And the little bit of time we had at the end of each night, I spent with my husband. I didn’t spend it worrying about a diet.

I don’t feel bad about that. There are aspects of your health that don’t just include what you eat, and I focused on those this past week instead.

So I’m not going to weigh myself this week. Like I said at the start, this diet isn’t about weight loss. It’s to see if I can do it. It’s to try and be healthier. It’s to try and develop my relationship with the Lord. It’s not just about my weight. It’s about who I am as a person.

On a side note: my skin has never been clearer. I used to always have those itty bitty bumps under my skin on my cheeks, but I think cutting out a lot of processed stuff and cutting out all the carbs and gluten has helped clear my skin up. It’s amazing. I could be a cheek makeup model.

I will say that I was encouraged by a lot of people that I didn’t even know were following my story. I had 5 or more people call me out for not posting last week. I had people asking me how my diet is going. I had people ask if I’m still eating salads. I’ve had people tell me I look like I’ve lost weight. I had people reaching out to me that don’t even live in the same state as I do. And to me, that was incredible and inspiring. And if there was even an ounce of motivation that I had lost, they handed it back to me tenfold. So to those people, I thank you.

Of course, I still ate salads. I ate probably 3 or 4 over the course of this week. I skipped breakfast most days, and we had some type of junk for dinner. However, there were still some BOMB ass Pinterest salads that we ate.

Corn, Avocado, and Tomato Salad - a healthy and light salad perfect for BBQs and get togethers. the-girl-who-ate-everything.com
First, we had the Corn Avocado Tomato Salad. It was okay. It said to use fresh corn, but I just had canned corn so I don’t know if that helped or not. I also feel like I mixed the avocado in too much when I probably should have just put it on top and left it at that. The salad ended up looking kinda like the innerds of a baby’s diaper after given solid corn the first time. (MOMS, YOU KNOW WHAT I’M SAYIN.) I felt like the “salad” was too piecey for me. I don’t know how I really feel about having to use a spoon to eat my salad. We paired this salad with oven baked chicken legs. (So that’s not too bad of a cheat, right?)

Would I make this salad again? Probably not, if I’m being honest. After I compared it to a baby’s poop, I think I killed it for myself. I give it 5/10 blocks of cheese. Image result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheese

I’m going to start rating everything in “blocks of cheese,” because I really love cheese.

Creamy Cucumber SaladNext, we had the Creamy Cucumber Salad. This. Salad. Was. Heaven. Seriously. It had the Greek yogurt, and the fresh dill, onions, cucumber. My goodness, it was amazing. We paired this salad with ribs that B made, that had been on the grill for TEN HOURS on Father’s day. He was a dedicated dude that day. I had never had ribs before, and they were amazing. He even made his own rubs for them. THIS ISN’T ABOUT RIBS THIS IS ABOUT SALAD! GET IT TOGETHER!

Sorry.

The salad was amazing. Would I make it again? Of course. It was light, refreshing, and for being creamy, it felt seriously healthy. 10/10 blocks of cheese. Image result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheese

The next salad…

Honey Mustard Chicken, Avocado + Bacon Salad | http://cafedelites.com

The next salad was a SHOW STOPPER. I had my doubts, but I was wrong. It was the perfect balance of sweet, sour, bitter, salty, and umami. I couldn’t stop eating it until my stomach was about to burst!

It was another Pinterest salad called the Honey Mustard Chicken Avocado & Bacon Salad. There was supposed to be corn in this salad, but I made it in our new house, and I had forgotten to bring the can opener. Hence the no corn. Honestly, though, I’m not so sure we missed out on too much by leaving the corn out of it. Like I said, I don’t want to eat my salads with a spoon, and I feel like corn would’ve been difficult to pick up with a fork. So I recommend leaving the corn out of this salad. Did I say corn enough? I feel like I said corn enough for overkill.

Corn.

Anyway, 10/10 blocks of cheese. Image result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheese Definitely would make this again!

As for nonPinterest salads, I did try this kale brussel sprout chopped salad with chicken breast and a lemon vinaigrette. I rate it 0/10 blocks of cheese. I don’t even want to talk about it.

I also had a pretty generic salad with chicken breast that I ruined by accidentally putting too much dressing on… my bad. And I’m pretty sure the Halo that I had was going bad so I didn’t finish it.  I rate this salad 2/10 blocks of cheese, only because the cheese was really good. Image result for block of cheeseImage result for block of cheese

In the upcoming weeks, you can expect some joint articles from B and myself. We’ll be talking about our journey to homeownership, projects that we’ll be working on, and how our marriage has developed being first-time homeowners.

We also have an OFFICIAL location to start taking REAL photos and videos for coffee brewing tutorials. So keep your eyes peeled for the new and exciting developments in The Married Barista!
Leave a Reply

