Pretty on Fleek: Week 2 Recap

Recap

Total salads consumed: 8.5

Total cheats: 8

Total hours of exercise owed: 8

Total exercise this week: 0

Total selfies taken: 1

Weight lost this week: 3 LBS

Total weight lost: 8 LBS

Can I just start off by reminding my readers that I am a flawed human being, and I promise I’m working on that? I totally blew this week you guys. It was only the second week and I BLEW it. One day I literally ate FIVE Zebra Cake Rolls.

Five.

…in one night.

I don’t know what got into me. And I had a really difficult time recording what I ate because I was so ashamed of my cheats this week. So I have literally no record of what I ate on Saturday.

But looking past my failures, I will celebrate my successes this week. I tried THREE new types of salad this week, and loved them all. Well, for the most part. My portion sizes got a little out of hand a couple times because I didn’t realize that B had bought “Family Sized” lettuce bags, and I would get like 3/4 of the way through my salad and be riding the struggle bus. So that made it difficult to enjoy the food. There is such a thing as too much of a good thing! Which I learned painfully this week.

My favorite salad we had this week was an amazing avocado greek salad. I could eat 20 bowls of that in a week with no problem. Ours didn’t look near as pretty as this photo, but it was just as tasty. I give this salad a 10/10.

We also tried this Big Mac Cheeseburger Salad. I think it would’ve been better if I hadn’t tried to eat so much of it. I also just now noticed as I’m writing this that they used like halved pickle slices, and we used dill pickle relish. Our salad was a little… wet. So I think it could’ve been done better. It probably could’ve been a great salad if I had followed the directions. But I don’t know if I’ll ever try this again to see if it can redeem itself. This is like a “kitchen sink” salad. Like this is the type of salad you put together when you’re out of other options and just have condiments in your fridge. I’d give it a 6/10 – and that might be generous.

This easy low carb Big Mac salad recipe is ready in just 20 minutes! A gluten-free, keto cheeseburger salad like this makes a healthy lunch or dinner.

This week I also noticed that sometimes I would rather just eat sleep for dinner than eat another salad.

After two semi-successful weeks, (I’m using semi-successful as an average for a good week and not a good week), I think it’s time for me to start incorporating exercise. I didn’t want to do that sooner because I didn’t want to overwhelm myself and end up failing because I was doing too much.

So for my exercising – the rules are this:

Every time I cheat on my diet, I owe myself 1 hour of exercise the following week.

So since I cheated 8 times this week, I owe myself 8 hours of exercise next week.

I know that sounds a little “red flaggy,” (but so does an all salad diet, let’s be honest), but I’ve talked this through with a couple people. I feel confident that I have a good grasp on what I’m doing. My reasoning for doing it this way is that it serves as:

  1. Motivation not to cheat on my diet. Because Lord knows I don’t WANT to exercise.
  2. It hold me accountable for cheating.
  3. It also gives me some leeway. Doing this gives me the option to cheat, because I have to do something to compensate for it.

I’ve been feeling so guilty this week. I felt guilty for cheating. I felt guilty for skipping meals when I wasn’t hungry. I even felt guilty for eating chicken – because chicken wasn’t lettuce. And I know with my struggle with anorexia in 7th grade, and my struggles with bingeing and depression since then, that guilt… is the most toxic feeling I could possibly have during this challenge.

I’ve tried “dieting” before and always always always found myself in a toxic corner by the end of it. So I think if I exercise in exchange for a cheat, it will allow me freedom and peace of mind. I’ll need some prayers with this though, because literally 5/7 days of this challenge I do struggle in some form or another. I’M DOING OKAY THO SO NOBODY NEEDS TO PANIC. I’m just trying to analyzing my past so I can be successful for my future.

Things I learned this week:

  1. I’m weak. I’m so weak. And I thought I could do this and watch B cheat on his diet, and I can’t. So we both are trying to fully commit to this instead of offering each other an out.
  2. Once again, cheat meals aren’t really worth it. When your body is trying to reconfigure itself, the last thing you should do is feed it the trash that drug it so low to begin with. I need to pound this into my skull.
  3. I was not looking forward to weighing myself this week because I felt guilty and self conscious the entire week for how many zebra cake rolls I ate.
  4. Pinterest is extremely helpful. I have over 30 salads I want to try, and successfully tried TWO from Pinterest this week!
  5. I seem less interested in food this week. Mostly because of how sad it is that the only answer to “What do you want for dinner?” is still, “Salad.”

Anyway, I’ll list what I ate this week below if you’re interested in checking it out. We’re taking bets with how much weight I’ll lose by my deadline: October 17, 2017. PUT YOUR GUESSES IN THE COMMENTS!

Thursday

  • Breakfast: Crispix with 2% milk
  • Lunch: Salad with bacon bits, parmesan cheese, and light Italian dressing
  • Dinner: Avocado Greek Salad (Black olives, feta, avocado, cucumber, tomato, onion, green peppers, red wine vinegar, olive oil)
  • Cheats: 4 chocolate chip muffins (I really felt like baking.) I also shared with B: cut up strawberries and basil, dusted with sugar, on top of ice cream and a little heavy cream. …I don’t want to talk about it.

Friday

  • Breakfast: Orange
  • Lunch: Avocado Greek Salad
  • Dinner: Avocado Greek Salad, grilled chicken, side salad
  • CheatsLarge onion rings with dipping ranch (Sonic), 5 zebra cake rolls

Saturday

  • Breakfast: No record
  • Lunch:
  • Dinner:

Sunday

  • Brunch: Biscuits and gravy, bacon, cherry danish
  • Dinner: Cheeseburger Salad
  • CheatsCherry Danish

Monday

  • Breakfast: Crispix with whole milk
  • Lunch: Chicken Bacon “ranch” salad (lettuce, chicken breast, cheese, bacon, tomato, pickles, spicy mustard, and drizzled mayo)
  • Dinner/CheatBuffalo wings, garlic breadsticks (Papa Johns)

Tuesday

  • Breakfast: Crispix with whole milk
  • Lunch: Chicken Bacon “Ranch” Salad
  • Dinner: Nothing

Wednesday

  • Breakfast: Malt-O-Meal with butter and maple syrup
  • Lunch: Chicken Bacon “Ranch” Salad
  • Dinner: Half of a taco salad that was really gross so I threw half of it away.
Leave a Reply

